New South Wales Northern Territory Queensland South Australia Tasmania Victoria Western Australia

Mobile Black Spot Program round 2 rollout

Optus, Telstra, and Vodafone have released their rollout schedules for round 2 of the Mobile Black Spot Program.

Under round 2 of the program, 266 new and upgraded mobile base stations will be built to boost mobile phone coverage in rural and regional areas across Australia.

The round 2 base stations will be built in every state and the Northern Territory with 39 base stations to be delivered in NSW, 32 in Victoria, 76 in Queensland, 78 in Western Australia, 20 in South Australia, 6 in Tasmania and 15 in the Northern Territory.

Together, these base stations are expected to provide new and upgraded handheld coverage to an estimated 6,300 premises across 17,700 square kilometres; new external antenna coverage to over 52,300 square kilometres; and new handheld and external antenna coverage to over 1,900 kilometres of major transport routes.

Funding for round 2, totalling $213 million, is being provided by the Australian Government, state and local governments, mobile network operators, and business and community organisations.

Source: Australian Government