Northern Territory

New chair announced for power & water corporation

NT Treasurer Nicole Manison has announced a new Chair for the Power and Water Corporation (PWC).

Mr John Langoulant has been appointed to the position as a non-executive director, effective 20 June 2017 to 18 June 2021 after a thorough recruitment process.

“Mr Langoulant brings extensive experience and expertise to the Power and Water Corporation Chair position in company management, corporate governance, finance and economics,” Ms Manison said.

“The Territory Government is taking on the challenge to ensure our Government-owned corporations are efficient, customer-focussed and operate in a best-practice environment. Territorians deserve nothing less.”

Mr Langoulant holds a number of Chairperson and other non-executive director roles, including Chairperson of the Westpac Group (Western Australia) and Chairperson of the Dampier to Bunbury Pipeline.

Additionally, Mr Langoulant has previously held a number of Chief Executive Officer roles including Under Treasurer of the Western Australian Department of Treasury and Finance and Chief Executive of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia.

“Mr Langoulant holds an Honours degree in economics and is currently leading a Western Australian Government Commission of Inquiry into government spending,” Ms Manison said.

“I would like to also thank Deputy Power and Water Chair Mr Ken Clarke who has acted as the interim chair throughout this recruitment process.”

Ms Manison said the appointment of Mr Langoulant demonstrates the commitment of Government to ensuring PWC is best placed to face the challenges of delivering reliable, safe and affordable power and water and sewerage services to Territorians into the future.

Source: NT Government