Northern Territory

Territory Government leading the way for treaty

The Territory Government is beginning the process of appointing the Territory’s first ever Treaty Commissioner.

Treaty will provide a reset of our relationship with Aboriginal Territorians, while giving Aboriginal Territorians the ability to make their own decisions for their land, sea and people to create jobs for their people.

The Treaty Commissioner is an important part of the Treaty process and follows the signing of the historic Barunga Agreement, between the NT Government and the NT’s four land councils.

The role of the Treaty Commissioner is to lead the Treaty engagement process, speaking directly to Aboriginal Territorians and seeking their views on what a Treaty should look like in the Northern Territory.

The key objective of any Treaty in the Northern Territory is to achieve real change and substantive, long term benefits for Aboriginal people.

The Treaty Commissioner will advise the Northern Territory Government how this can best be achieved.

The Government is seeking an Aboriginal person, with strong connections to the Northern Territory, to lead this important reform.

The Treaty Commissioner will determine:

  • What a Northern Territory Treaty will seek to achieve
  • Whether there should be one or multiple treaties
  • The best model for a Treaty in the Northern Territory
  • What outcomes are possible under a Treaty for Aboriginal people
  • What the best process is for negotiating a Treaty
  • The potential contents of any Treaty in the Northern Territory.

The Treaty Commissioner will be responsible for:

  • Consultation with Aboriginal people on their support for a Treaty
  • Consultation with Aboriginal representative bodies and community groups
  • Developing a suitable framework to further Treaty negotiations with the Northern Territory Government.
  • Recommend the best of Aboriginal representation in any future Treaty negotiations.
  • Ensure non-Aboriginal Territorians are informed of the process.

Nominations are being called for a three year term, and close on 31 August 2018.

Source: NT Government