New South Wales

Riverina homes to shine at local awards

On Friday 21 September 2018, the building industry will gather in Wagga for its annual nights of nights, to celebrate all that is good in design and construction in residential building at the Housing Industry Association (HIA) Riverina Housing Awards.

“The annual awards have now been held in the Riverina for over a decade, and are part of a much longer running national awards program, which attracts around 3,000 entries across the nation each year,” according to Greg Weller, HIA Executive Director, ACT & Southern NSW.

“Winners at the Riverina Awards progress to the ACT and Southern NSW Awards in November 2018, and then if successful, will compete in the Australian Housing Awards in 2019.

“Builders and designers can enter a wide range of categories, from homes that have been architecturally designed and customized through to project and display homes, along with renovations and country style homes. There are also special categories for individual kitchen and bathrooms.”

“Winners from across eligible categories then compete to be named Riverina Home of the Year at the conclusion of the evening.”

“The region has a strong record of punching above its weight, with four local businesses making it to the 2018 national awards earlier in 2018. These were Wagga builders Troy Raulston Constructions (Townhouse or Villa), Harrison’s Joinery (Renovation/addition), PAH Innovative Construction (Professional Small Builder) and G C Building from Young (Spec Home).”

“It is a considerable achievement for builder to take out an industry award, with entries judged by independent experts to have demonstrated the quality and innovation that are needed to make them stand out in the crowd and succeed against such strong competition.”

“Not only do the HIA awards provide a source of great pride to the participating building companies, but they are also an important indicator of the market leaders in the region.”

“Consumers can identify the builders and industry professionals that are at the cutting edge of design and production techniques and committed to delivering the highest quality product,” concluded Mr Weller.

The awards will be held at the Wagga Rules Club.

Source: HIA